The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina


KWAYMULLINA, Ambelin

Walker Books (2012)

ISBN: 9781921720086 

395 p.

12+

Reviewed by Miffy Farquharson

Wow. I mean, like, Wow!

Set in a time beyond the Reckoning, when the Balance has been restored to the Earth, The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf combines elements of Aboriginal legend with contemporary and post contemporary culture. Imagine a world where some of Earth’s citizens have special powers, and yet these people are sidelined as Illegals, unable to gain Citizenship; harassed and persecuted in the name of the Balance. Imagine a world where the Balance is maintained through Accords, which both bind ordinary people and allow those with power to abandon them. Imagine a world…

But to tell any more of this amazing story would be to give away too many clues.

Needless to say, Ashala Wolf is the hero of this story. Strong yet vulnerable, she is the linchpin, the personality that holds the story together. Ashala has the typical hallmarks of any teenager – at once full of bravado and doubt, her commitment to freeing the Illegals held in the Detention Centre 3, and held in fear of the Citizenship Accord. Her cast of supporting characters is exceptional, and the author brings all the elements together in a most satisfying and original way.

Fans of Anthony Eaton’s Darklands series, and Sean Williams’ The Broken Land series will be enthralled with this new take on Australian post-apocalyptic ‘history’.

Leave a comment